This website is no longer live

As part of the changes to the NHS brought about by the Health and Social Care Act 2012, Primary Care Trusts
(PCTs) and Strategic Health Authorities (SHAs) ceased to exist on 31 March 2013. Their responsibilities were
taken over by Clinical Commissioning Groups and the NHS Trust Development Authority.

For more details please see: www.dh.gov.uk/health/2012/06/act-explained/ or click on the links below.

NHS England

At the heart of the new health and care system making sure that NHS services deliver the best possible care for patients.

Department of Health

Sets objectives and budgets and holds the system to account on behalf of the Secretary of State.

Local Authority

Rotherham Council - www.rotherham.gov.uk

Sheffield City Council - www.sheffield.gov.uk

Barnsley Council - www.barnsley.gov.uk

Doncaster Council – www.doncaster.gov.uk

Bassetlaw District Council – www.bassetlaw.gov.uk

Locally, all public health functions and campaigns are now run by Barnsley Council. This includes sexual health, smoking and obesity.

Public Heath England

Provides public health leadership and expertise, and works to improve the nation’s health and wellbeing, and to reduce health inequalities.

Health Education England

Responsible for the education, training and development of the healthcare workforce.

NHS Choices

Provides information on conditions, treatments, local services and healthy living.

Local information

Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs)

Made up of local GPs, nurses and other professionals are responsible for commissioning services for local communities.

  1. Rotherham Clinical Commissioning Group (www.rotherhamccg.nhs.uk)
  2. Sheffield Clinical Commissioning Group (www.sheffieldccg.nhs.uk)
  3. Barnsley Clinical Commissioning Group (www.barnsleyccg.nhs.uk)
  4. Doncaster Clinical Commissioning Group (www.doncasterccg.nhs.uk)
  5. Bassetlaw Clinical Commissioning Group (www.bassetlawccg.nhs.uk)